Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeInternational Palladium Medal

International Palladium Medal

In 1958, the Société de Chimie Industrielle instituted the International Palladium Medal, which "may be awarded biennally to an individual who has distinguished himself or herself by reason of outstanding contribution to the chemical industry of such character and scope as to enhance the international aims and objectives of the Société de Chimie Industrielle".

2017 International Palladium Medal

Seifi Ghasemi, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Air Products, received the the International Palladium Medal at a black-tie dinner in his honor on Thursday, June 1, 2017 in the Grand Ballroom of the Roosevelt Hotel in New York.

For further details, the press release is available for viewing.

2017 Awardee - Seifi Ghasemi
President and Chief Executive Officer, Air Products

Seifi Ghasemi - 2017 Palladium Medal
Peter Young, President of Société de Chimie Industrielle and Joseph Coote, Chairman of the International Palladium Medal Committee, present the Palladium Medal to Seifi Ghasemi on June 1, 2017 at the Roosevelt Hotel.
Photo: Hechler Photographers

2017 International Palladium Medal Dinner Photo Album - June 1, 2017

2017 International Palladium Medal Dinner

2015 International Palladium Medal

2015 Awardee - Ellen Kullman
Chair of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, DuPont

2015 E. Kullman
Joseph Coote, President of Société de Chimie Industrielle and
Dwight Glover, Chairman of the International Palladium Medal Committee,
present the Palladium Medal to Ellen Kullman
on May 7, 2015 at the Roosevelt Hotel.
Photo: Hechler Photographers

May 7, 2015 Event Photos

International Palladium Medal Dinner - May 7, 2015

Othmer Gold Medal Award

The Othmer Gold Medal is awarded annually by the Chemical Heritage Foundation in Philadelphia (CHF). It recognizes an individual who has contributed in multiple ways to the world's chemical heritage. The Société de Chimie Industrielle, as a member of CHF's Heritage Council, participates in identifying and nominating candidates for this award.

Winthrop-Sears Award

Société de Chimie Industrielle also nominates a candidate for the Winthrop-Sears Medal, given by the Chemists´ Club. The Winthrop-Sears Medal was established in 1970 by the Chemical Industry Association to recognize individuals who, by their entrepreneurial action, contributed to the vitality of the chemical industry and the betterment of mankind.

Recipients of the Palladium Medal

2017 Seifi Ghasemi

2015 Ellen Kullman

2013 Andrew N. Liveris

2011 Stephanie A. Burns

2009 Chad O. Holliday, Jr.

2007 Jeffery M. Lipton

2005 Dr. Jürgen F. Strube

2003 Vincent A. Calarco

2001 William S. Stavropoulos

1999 Earnest W. Deavenport, Jr.

1997 Thomas L. Gossage

1995 Edgar S. Woolard, Jr.

1994 Frank Popoff

1993 Jean-Renee Fourtou

1991 Robert D. Kennedy

1989 Konrad M. Weis

1987 Harry Corless

1985 Gerald D. Laubach

1983 Thomas G. Gibian

1981 Paul F. Oreffice

1979 Edward R. Kane

1977 J. Peter Grace

1975 Werner C. Brown

1972 William Wayne Keeler

1968 Karl Winnacker

1967 Henry Smith Wingate

1965 Paul Toinet

1964 Monroe Jackson Rathbone

1963 Charles Allen Thomas

1961 Ernest-John Solvay